Friends are Never Long Lost

During last night’s pre-wedding BBQ, I had a wonderful surprise when I found out that a former coworker and friend who now lives in Japan was also in Monterey for another wedding. Holla.

N and I were stationed together in Korea and Maryland, where our lives of partying and exploring were occasionally punctuated with keeping a metaphorical eye on the Axis of Evil. So we met up for breakfast at Rosine’s to pig out and catch up. (I must apologize first and foremost to myself for taking a picture of the food…) Of course, a lot happens in four years – different job, location, expanded waistlines, marriage, etc. – but our old career field is a very small one, so you get to know people quite quickly. It’s always great to hear your friends are being blessed in different areas of their lives.

After breakfast, I headed to the bride’s bungalow, where the families would be gathered to prep the food and supplies for the main event of the day: seafood boil on the Pacific beach. The mothers graciously paid for all the food, a serious help for the couple. What a joy seeing the mothers in the kitchen together, cutting, cooking, and forming new bonds as new family.

The mothers made ceviche, among other things.

The mothers made ceviche, among other things.

Me? I slept. Well, that’s not all I did. I also lounged on the enormous circular spinning Tiffany-blue sofa while watching trashy reality shows on Bravo. Bravo, never ever tune in because you’ll lose four hours of your life and four pounds of brain matter. It felt good, not doing anything while on vacation. A true vacation.

The seafood boil was a success. Nested in a nook on the beach with Pebble Beach in the background, we set up a table with more delicious food than a party of two dozen could possibly hope to eat. It took two tries to get the fire going for one of the two huge pots – the groom is very allergic to scallops – but after that, it was on to a night of eating, drinking, and making new friends around two bonfires by the sea. Perfect? Close.

One of the seafood boil pots over a roaring beach bonfire

One of the seafood boil pots over a roaring beach bonfire

I have to say that seeing the bride’s father play with his 10 year old grandson really warmed my heart. The bride’s sister is a single mom. I don’t know what kind of father figure he’s got back home; I never really thought to ask that during our conversations. Anyway, it was something else, seesawing between tender affection and firm yet gentle corrections, delight never leaving the patriarch’s eyes as he addressed his grandson. Playful, too. I wondered if that’s how God interacts with us. Anyway, the entire family and the entire KS friend-family are very affectionate, showering each other with kisses and never-ending I-love-yous. It’s something I’ve never experienced in my own life, and I couldn’t help feel a twinge of envy even though I was also one of the objects of affection smothering. How delightful it must be to have close friends to share a deep history together.

